Law commission

Cypriot diplomat Andreas Mavroyiannis elected member of the United Nations International Law Commission for 2023-2027

Cypriot diplomat Andreas Mavroyiannis has been elected as a member of the United Nations International Law Commission for the 2023-2027 term.

The term of the thirty-four members of the International Law Commission for the period 2017-2021 (extended until 2022) will expire at the end of 2022. The election of the members of the Commission for a term of five years taking effect on 1 January 2023 (until 31 December 2027) was held, by secret ballot, at the 32nd meeting of the General Assembly during its seventy-sixth session, held on Friday, 12 November.

The Statute of the International Law Commission states that its “object is to promote the progressive development of international law and its codification”.

An official press release indicates that Ambassador Mavroyiannis, candidate of the Republic of Cyprus, was elected with 139 votes in the group of Asia-Pacific States.

The votes obtained by the candidates from the group of Asia-Pacific States are India (169), Thailand (162), Japan (154), Vietnam (145), China (142), the Republic of Korea (140), Cyprus (139) Mongolia (123) and Lebanon (119), Sri Lanka (112), Philippines (87).

Seats on the Commission are distributed among nine nationals of African States, eight nationals of Asian and Pacific States, three nationals of Eastern European States, six nationals of Latin American States and Caribbean and eight nationals of Western European and other States.