Law ministry

Kiren Rijiju, promoted to Cabinet, obtains the Ministry of Law

New Delhi:

Kiren Rijiju was elevated to the rank of Cabinet Minister and in charge of the Ministry of Law and Justice. He had been Minister of State (Independent Charge) for Youth and Minister of State for Minority Affairs and Ayush Portfolios.

Mr. Rijiju represents the constituency of Arunachal Pradesh West in Lok Sabha and holds a law degree from the University of Delhi.

He succeeds Ravi Shankar Prasad as Minister of Law and Justice. Mr. Prasad does not have a ministerial portfolio in this reshuffle.

Shortly after the swearing-in ceremony, Mr Rijiju took to Twitter to thank Prime Minister Narendra Modi for giving him a new responsibility. He added that he will work in a dedicated manner to realize the vision of the Prime Minister of Atmanirbhar Bharat.

Mr. Rijiju was first elected to Lok Sabha after the 2004 general election. He lost elections in 2009 and was re-elected in 2014 and 2019.

Mr Rijiju is one of six Union ministers who were promoted to cabinet in today’s mega reshuffle. The others are Hardeep Singh Puri, Parshottam Rupala, G Kishan Reddy, Mansukh Mandaviya and Anurag Thakur.

Thirty-six new ministers have joined Narendra Modi’s government in today’s reshuffle. The cabinet now has 77 ministers.

Among the outgoing ministers who did not find a place in the reshuffled cabinet were Ravi Shankar Prasad, who held the Law and Justice and IT portfolios; Prakash Javadekar, who was in charge of the Ministries of Information and Broadcasting, Environment, Forests and Climate Change and Heavy Industries and Public Enterprises, and Harsh Vardhan, who held the portfolio of health.