Law ministry

Ministry of Law Proposes Summary for Appointment of New NAB Chairman – Pakistan

ISLAMABAD: The Ministry of Law and Justice has initiated a process of appointing the new Chairman of the National Accountability Office (NAB) and forwarded the summary to Chairman Dr Arif Alvi for approval.

The term of the outgoing president, Judge Javed Iqbal, expired in October. However, the government extended his term with a presidential ordinance.

Recent amendments to the National Accountability Ordinance (NAO) allow the outgoing president of the NAB to continue until a new president is appointed. Sources at the Justice Department said Dawn that in the summary, the chair had been requested to initiate the process of appointing the chairperson of the NAB.

Government extended Javed Iqbal’s tenure with ordinance

The Justice Ministry stressed that in light of a Supreme Court ruling, the president is supposed to consult with the prime minister and the leader of the opposition in the National Assembly for the president of the NAB. The ordinance amended paragraph b of article 6 of the NAO to grant an extension to the president of the NAB by excluding the word “non-extendable” from the law.

Article 5 of the NAO states: “There will be a chairperson of the National Accountability Bureau, who will be appointed by the chairperson in consultation with the House leader and the leader of the opposition in the National Assembly. ”

The sources said that although there was no deadline to complete the meaningful consultation, in case the president considers that the prime minister and the opposition leader could not reach consensus on a name, the chairman may refer the matter to the parliamentary committee.

Clause (ii) of article 5 of the NAO stipulates that the committee will be constituted by the president of the National Assembly comprising 50 percent of the members of the Treasury banks and 50 percent of the opposition benches, depending on their strength in the Majlis-i-Shoora (Parliament), to be appointed by the respective parliamentary leaders.

Sub-paragraph (iii) provides that the parliamentary committee may confirm any name for the appointment to the presidency.

In accordance with the amended NAO, the total membership of the parliamentary committee will be 12 members, of which a third will come from the Senate.

“If the National Assembly is dissolved at the material time, all the members of the committee are from the Senate. “

Posted in Dawn, December 7, 2021